….but change HAD to come.

I just realized I hadn’t TOUCHED this blog and A LOT has changed.

I went from 249 at the beginning of 2009 to 255 as an all time high in November.

I started researching weight loss surgery about 5 years ago, and I decided that this was my year to do it. I attended an info seminar in June, and then spent the summer going back and forth to the doc getting all the preliminary tests. I had the duodenal switch done November 30, 2009. To date, I have lost 50 lbs.

Medical Benefits:

My blood pressure and cholesterol have gone down considerably.
I do not snore anymore at all, and I suspect that when I have another sleep study that I will be free and clear of sleep apnea.

Physical Benefits
I can use a regular bath towel and not a bath sheet
I can cross my legs
I can run on the treadmill for a few minutes
I registered to run a 5K in a few months
I went from a 20/22 top and 18/20 bottom, to a 14/16 top, 14 bottom
I am clearing my closet of all my larger clothes and boxing them up to give away
My cycle has regulated itself

Emotional Benefits
I look younger
I have TONS more energy
I look at food differently–as fuel and not as a comfort
I am motivating others around me to eat better and work out more
My portion control is affecting my family in a positive way

By summer, I will probably be at my goal, but I have a lifetime to re-learn how to eat and take every moment to savor this precious life I have. The comments are coming out of the woodwork from men. I think it’s hilarious, but when I look back at old pictures, I was a puffed up version of myself. I always saw beauty when I looked in the mirror, but now, it’s so much more clear to me. I guess that confidence is passing on to others.

